La Flèche Wallonne 2024

This punchy Classic marks the middle of the Ardennes triple

Jump to:

La Flèche Wallonne
La Flèche Wallonne
  • Dates 17 Apr
  • Race Length 146 kms
  • Start Huy
  • Finish Huy
  • Race Category Elite Women

La Flèche Wallonne Femmes 2024 overview

La Flèche Wallonne Femmes is the first of the two one-day races that bring the curtains down on the Spring Classics. The race takes place on Wednesday, 17 April in the French-speaking Wallonne region of Belgium and provides a unique explosive finale for the Women’s WorldTour on the fearsome 20+ per cent gradients of the Mur de Huy.

For the men, La Flèche Wallonne is not the most prestigious title, despite it having its own extensive history. It is a different story for the women as La Flèche Wallonne Femmes has been running for longer than almost all of the other women’s spring Classics which have based on a preexisting men’s race.

With its first edition taking place in 1998, and running consecutively since then, the 25 years of history gives the race a significant amount of weight. The winners list only adds to that as Marianne Vos, Demi Vollering and seven-time champion Anna van der Breggen take up most of the list over the past decade.

In terms of contenders, the start list is loaded with the likes of Elisa Longo Borghini, Demi Vollering, and Kasia Niewiadoma headlining the race. Longo Borghini has been one of the stand-out riders this year and is laser-focused on the hilly Classics having skipped Paris-Roubaix to target the gaps in her palmarès.

La Flèche Wallonne Femmes 2024 key information

When is the 2024 La Flèche Wallonne Femmes? The race will take place on Wednesday, 17 April.

Where does the 2024 La Flèche Wallonne Femmes take place? The race will start and finish in the Belgian town of Huy, with the finish on top of the fearsome Mur de Huy.

Who won La Flèche Wallonne Femmes in 2023? Demi Vollering won the race ahead of Liane Lippert and Gaia Realini.

When did La Flèche Wallonne Femmes start? The first edition took place in 1998. Fabiana Luperini took the win.

Who has the most wins at La Flèche Wallonne Femmes? Anna van der Breggen has the record at seven wins which she won consecutively between 2015 to 2021.

Which teams are racing La Flèche Wallonne Femmes in 2024?

La Flèche Wallonne Femmes is a WorldTour race and will see the full collection of 15 WorldTour teams take on the race. Six ProTour teams will also be at the race making up the full 25-team peloton.

WorldTour teams:

  • AG Insurance-Soudal
  • Canyon-SRAM
  • Ceratizit-WNT
  • Fenix-Deceuninck
  • Human Powered Health
  • Lidl-Trek
  • Liv AlUla Jayco
  • Movistar
  • Roland
  • dsm-firmenich PostNL
  • SD Worx-Protime
  • UAE Team ADQ
  • Uno-X Mobility
  • Visma-Lease a Bike

Continental teams:

  • Arkéa-B&B Hotels
  • Cofidis
  • Chevalmeire
  • Proximus-Cyclis CT
  • EF Education-Cannondale
  • Lifeplus Wahoo
  • Lotto-Dstny
  • Team Coop-Repsol
  • VolkerWessels Women's Pro Cycling
  • GT Krush Rebellease

What happened at the 2023 La Flèche Wallonne Femmes?

Demi Vollering won the 2023 edition of the race in the midst of winning the “Ardennes treble” with wins at Amstel Gold Race the week prior and Liège-Bastogne-Liège the week after. Liane Lippert finished second while Gaia Realini finished third in the final push up the Mur de Huy.

La Flèche Wallonne Femmes’ previous winners

2023 Demi Vollering (Ned) SD Worx

2022 Marta Cavalli (Ita) FDJ Suez Futuroscope

2021 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) SD Worx

2020 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans

2019 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans

2018 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans

2017 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Boels Dolmans

2016 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team

2015 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team

2014 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team

2013 Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo Women Cycling Team

2012 Evenlyn Stevens (USA) Team Specialized-Lululemon

2011 Marianne Vos (Ned) Nederland Bloeit

2010 Emma Pooley (GBr) Cervelo Test Team

2009 Marianne Vos (Ned) DSB Bank - LTO

2008 Marianne Vos (Ned) Team DSB Bank

2007 Marianne Vos (Ned) Team DSB Bank

2006 Nicole Cooke (GBr) Univega Pro Cycling Team

2005 Nicole Cooke (GBr) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan

2004 Sonia Huguet (Fra) French National Team

2003 Nicole Cooke (GBr) Ausra Gruodis-Safi

2002 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Edil Savino

2001 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Edil Savino

2000 Genevieve Jeanson (Can)

1999 Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) The Greenery - Hawk - VW

1998 Fabiana Luperini (Ita) Mimosa

Explore more about La Flèche Wallonne Femmes by clicking on the tabs above.

Major Races

See All

29 Jun - 21 Jul

fr flag

Tour de France


12 Aug - 18 Aug

fr flag

Tour de France Femmes


2 Jun - 9 Jun

fr flag

Critérium du Dauphiné


6 Jun - 9 Jun

gb flag

Tour of Britain Women


9 Jun - 16 Jun

ch flag

Tour de Suisse


Provided by FirstCycling

Subscribe to the GCN Newsletter

Get the latest, most entertaining and best informed news, reviews, challenges, insights, analysis, competitions and offers - straight to your inbox