UCI WorldTeam

Team dsm-firmenich PostNL

nl flag

Formerly Skil-Shimano, the once German now Dutch team made the jump to the WorldTour in 2013 as Argos-Shimano.

They then became Giant-Alpecin before settling on their well-known guise of Team Sunweb from 2017 to 2020. They’ve since had three rebrands and are now known as dsm-firmenich PostNL, dropping the Sunweb travel brand in favour of a Dutch multinational corporation and the country's postal company.

In 2022, Romain Bardet and Andreas Leknessund netted the team overall titles at the Tour of the Alps and the Arctic Race of Norway, while Alberto Dainese and Thymen Arensman picked up stage wins at the Giro d’Italia and Vuelta a España.

The following season, Bardet was a leader once again but the team also enjoyed a string of victories from sprinters, Sam Welsford and Alberto Dainese. In the absence of a victory from Bardet, Dainese took the team's most prestigious stage wins in the Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a España. The team also won the opening day team time trial at the latter.

Bardet remains the team’s best hope for Grand Tour success in 2024, but it does seem as though they’ve got one eye on the future too following the promising seasons of Britons Oscar Onley and Max Poole. Meanwhile, fan favourite Warren Barguil will return to the team after six seasons spent with Arkéa.

The team's most notable acquisition, however, is that of Fabio Jakobsen, with the Dutch sprinter making the move from Soudal Quick-Step. Jakobsen is a five-time Vuelta a España stage winner and former winner of the green jersey in Spain. For 2024, he will look forward to having a dedicated lead-out train at his disposal, after Quick-Step reorientated their team towards Remco Evenepoel's GC ambitions.

[@portabletext/react] Unknown block type "span", specify a component for it in the `components.types` prop

Provided by FirstCycling

Team dsm-firmenich PostNL
Team dsm-firmenich PostNL
  • Nationality Netherlands
  • Founded 2013
  • Team Principal Iwan Spekenbrink
  • UCI Code DFP
  • Bike Sponsor Scott

The Team

Romain Bardet

Romain Bardet


fr flag



Kevin Vermaerke

Kevin Vermaerke


us flag



Oscar Onley

Oscar Onley


gb flag



Warren Barguil

Warren Barguil


fr flag



Fabio Jakobsen

Fabio Jakobsen


nl flag



Team Bikes

Link to Vuelta a España pro bike: Romain Bardet’s Scott Foil RC
Romain Bardet's sparkle-adorned Scott Foil RC set-up for the Vuelta a España

Vuelta a España pro bike: Romain Bardet’s Scott Foil RC

With a sparkling colourway and sleek integration, Bardet’s Scott Foil caught our eye


Top Team dsm-firmenich PostNL Stories

Link to dsm-firmenich PostNL launch 2024 teams, goals and jersey
dsm-firmenich PostNL launched their new look for 2024 in Calpe

dsm-firmenich PostNL launch 2024 teams, goals and jersey

Dutch squad lays out Grand Tour ambitions for men’s and women’s programmes

Link to Warren Barguil: Different rider, same hunger
Warren Barguil will race for Team dsm-firmenich PostNL in 2024

Warren Barguil: Different rider, same hunger

French rider returns to his roots and links up with Romain Bardet at Team dsm-firmenich PostNL, with an eye on Classics success

Link to Leading by example: Fabio Jakobsen pleased to come full circle
Fabio Jakobsen has waved goodbye to Soudal Quick-Step for 2024, but remains confident of winning at the highest level

Leading by example: Fabio Jakobsen pleased to come full circle

Dutch sprinter discusses leaving Lefevere, choosing dsm-firmenich PostNL a decade after initial interest, and how his new adventure is ‘like being on a team with all my little brothers’

Subscribe to the GCN Newsletter

Get the latest, most entertaining and best informed news, reviews, challenges, insights, analysis, competitions and offers - straight to your inbox